The Amish Clockmaker

the amish clockmaker

This book was fantastic!!! The story is great and I love the way it was told. The book starts out telling the story of Matthew Zook trying to expand his tack shop and running into problems. Those problems soon have him searching for Clayton Raber.  Through searching for Clayton he learns the story of Clayton and his wife Miriam and the tragedy that struck their marriage.  I love how the book starts out in the present day and then we are taken back in time to learn Clayton’s story as it happened. Then we are again in the present day to finish up the book and wrap up the story. The book has a great flow to it and keeps you interested from beginning to end.

A great job was done creating and writing about the characters. I will admit at first I wasn’t sure about Clayton. Did he do what he was accused of? But then as the story begins to focus on him and Miriam I had a whole different opinion of him. I went from being unsure of him to feeling sorry for him. Not only for his disability from an accident that happened in his youth but also because of his love of Miriam. The characters were easy to get to know and relate to that soon I forgot they were fictional.

I really enjoyed this book and was sad when I reached the last page. Not sad over the way it ended but just the fact it ended. I had become so engrossed in the story I wasn’t ready for it to be over.

Mindy Starns Clark is a new to me author and I can definitely say this won’t be the only book of hers I read. Not only did I get to read a great book but I found another great writer of Amish fiction.

This book is a must read for fans of Amish fiction.

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

