A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings

a most inconvenient marriage

I liked the idea of this book: Girl nurses guy during war and on his deathbed marries him and goes to live on his farm to help take care of his mother and sister.  Upon her arrival she finds out that the family and neighbors are not quite sure of her story and are uncertain of her.  Things aren’t what they seemed to be when Jeremiah described them to her.  Shortly after her arrival things are really stirred up when Jeremiah himself shows up and they find out she is married to someone who is very much alive.  Distrust abounds as the two meet and try to figure out what is really going on.

I’m not quite sure what it was about this book but I found it lacking.  As mentioned above I really liked the idea of the story and couldn’t wait to download it and start reading. However, I was soon looking to see how much more time I had to read to be finished. The story didn’t seem to move at a fast enough pace for me.  There were times it started moving along and then seemed to go nowhere in a hurry.

The character development in this book was good.  There was conflict, which was needed to give the story depth.  The plot line was good. It was just the pace of the book. I think the book could have been edited down a bit and been better.  It would have had better flow and been an easier read.

With this being said, this was the first book I’ve read by this author.  I will definitely give her books another try.  This would be a good book for anyone who enjoys war time stories, horses, or lost love.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

